Bhutan is located in Asia continent in the eastern part of Himalayas. Elevation above the sea level is 200m at the south and 7614m in the north. The aerial distance between north and south is 172kms and east to west is 336kms. She is small nation with forest cover of 72%. She is very rich in biodiversity with many endangered species of animals and plants. Her biodiversity is still unexplored and uprising researchers are doing their best to reveal them.

Bhutan boundaries with China in north, India and Bangladesh in south, India in east and India and Nepal in west. There are 20 districts (Dzongkhags). The largest Dzongkhag is Gasa and Pema Gatshel as smallest. There are four main rivers namely Punatshang chhu, Drangme chhu, Mangde chhu and Wang chhu. All the rivers from Bhutan flows down to Brahmaputra in India. The rivers play vital role in generating electricity, which is the main source of the revenue in the country.

Popular passes in Bhutan are;
               1 Dochula (3116) – between Thimphu and Punakha
               2 Chelela (3988m) – between Haa and Paro
               3 Pelela (3351m) – between Wandue and Trongsa
               4 Yutola (3425m) – between Trongsa and Bumthang
               5 Thrumshingla (3780m) – between Bumthang and Mongar
               6 Korila (2298m) – between Mongar and Trashigang

There are three types of settlement pattern n Bhutan.
               1 Nucleated
               2 Dispersed
               3 Linear.

Highly populated Dzongkhag is the Thimphu and Gasa, the lowest populated. Lunana in Gasa is the highest human settlement seen in the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Translate »